The Complete Humphrey Jennings Collection Volume Two: Fires Were Started (Blu-ray+DVD) BFI


Widely considered to be one of Britain’s greatest filmmakers, Humphrey Jennings has long been celebrated as the director of works which beautifully capture everyday heroism in times of war and peace. This, the second of three volumes which collect together Jennings’s entire output, gathers five films from 1941-1943 and shows Jennings at the peak of his tragically short but outstanding career.

From the rousing call to arms of The Heart of Britain and Words for Battle, the poetic evocation of daily life in Listen to Britain, and the powerfully resonating drama of Fires Were Started and The Silent Village, the films included in the set offer a lyrical portrait of the nation at war and a moving celebration of Britishness.

The films

The Heart of Britain (1941)
Words for Battle (1941)
Listen to Britain (1941)
Fires Were Started (1943)
The Silent Village (1943)

1 in stock

Special Features

All films presented in both High Definition and Standard Definition
This is England (1941, 10 mins): alternate cut of The Heart of Britain
I Was a Fireman (1943, 74 mins): Jennings' original cut of Fires Were Started
Illustrated booklet featuring essays, film notes and biographies by Lindsay Anderson, Patrick Russell and Kevin Jackson.


Bluray, DVD